Two businesses, one Clevertim account

I run two separate businesses, can I use one single Clevertim account to manage both of them?

Short answer: Yes.

There is nothing to prevent you from doing so. We certainly don’t place any restrictions like that. What’s in your account is up to you and the way you run your business(es) is again up to you.

Long answer:

Just because you can do so, it doesn’t mean it’s necessarily a good idea to do so. One question you have to ask yourself is: Will I be able to tell which contact is for which business? And also, if your business grows and you bring in help in the form of new employees, personal assistants or virtual assistants, or if you decide to outsource parts of your business processes to a third party – will they be able to tell? Will it be manageable going forward?

One way to keep everything separated would be via tags. You tag everything with either: Business1 or Business2. You can change the names of these tags of course, but maintaining the tags, ensuring they’re correct – it’s a lot of work.

The next question you should ask yourself is why you are trying to keep your contacts into one Clevertim account? Is it to save money? We are already one of the most competitively priced contact management solution out there.  Is it because you think it’ll be more convenient to have a single login? You could use two separate browsers – for example you could use Chrome for Business1 and Internet Explorer or Safari depending on your platform for Business2. This still means you can remember logins in each browser, so you don’t have to type the password every time.

If you decide to go with two accounts, one thing to keep in mind is that you will need two separate users and each user needs a separate email address. So you will need two separate email addresses. And you need to keep them separate – for example, you should not enter email1 as an additional email address in the account for email2. Doing so will confuse the Dropbox feature that allows you to attach emails simply by CC-ing, BCC-ing or forwarding your emails to a dedicated email address. That feature is designed to identify you by your email address and it could start attaching notes to the wrong account if you start mixing and matching emails and accounts. If you have any employees working on both businesses, they will need to keep emails separate in same fashion.